globalization at work

It makes no sense to me--Krispy Kreme in Japan?! Without getting into my personal opinions about the Kreme's expansion in the US, this is just something I can't wrap my brain around. However, the store(s) (I think there's at least one, maybe more) are wildly popular. As popular as they once were here I would say. They commonly have one hour lines and outside the store. I just don't understand. In the interest of full disclosure, I did fall in love with the donut chain Mister Donut in Japan before, I even had a point card. Why those exist in Japan, I don't understand. However, I always ate WAY more than the average Japanese patron, up to six donuts in one sitting in times of the 100 yen special (which, by the way, they instituted just for me when I visited this time! ok, not really just for me...).


They've also opened up a Forever 21 store in Tokyo; the store when it first opened had a line that was an hour and a half just to get in, stretching from outside the store out to the train station, at least a good five minute walk in distance.

Perhaps most shockingly to me was the prevalence of Starbucks in Japan. Last time, I swear I only saw 2 Starbucks in Tokyo, this time, there were too many to count. It's sad, really. There is some local customization, including of course, the smaller drinks (a small in Japan is the same as a US kid's size) which I don't mind and the different drinks, like a jelly frappuchino.

Other imported stores, like Krispy Kreme, Forever 21, Starbucks, and I will admit Mister Donut, include of course McDonalds, KFC (all the stores in Japan seem to have a statue of the Colonel standing right outside the door), Shakey's Pizza, Wendy's, Seattle's Best Coffee, Pizza Hut...

0 comments:

Post a Comment